Reviews

She-Hulk, Volume 1: Law & Disorder review

20454376

Title: She-Hulk, Volume 1: Law & Disorder
Author: Charles Soule
Format: Paperback
My rating: 3/5 stars

content warnings: violence, death
representation: asian main character, black main and side characters

Wow, the unpopular comic opinions strike again! Here’s your daily reminder that 3 stars is not a bad rating; it’s an average rating.

The first volume of this run of She-Hulk follows Jennifer Walters as she starts her new law firm, gets her first client (who is the son of Doctor Doom) and investigates a mysterious case that she is somehow involved in.

On the whole, this was a really fun comic. The plot was way more interesting that a legal drama with superheroes has nay right to be and I loved Jennifer as a character. I really hope that if Disney+ is successful they start developing a She-Hulk show because she deserves it.

Honestly, this probably would have been a four star but I couldn’t get past the art. I’m not going to say it’s bad because there are clearly people who like it, but I couldn’t stand it. As with many volumes, the artists change a bit of the way through. I liked the art style in issues #1-#4 well enough even if it wasn’t my cup of tea, but I couldn’t stand the art for the final two issues.

Apart from the art though, this is still a fun comic with good plot and a great character that the MCU needs to stop sleeping on. 

Review also posted to my Goodreads.

Leave a comment